Paddy Dooley Scholarship

Paddy Dooley was the captain of the Irish Olympic eight in the 1948 Olympic Games in London. He was been involved in rowing for many years and raised the profile of rowing in Limerick. In 1993 he started the Limerick Masters Rowing Association and was especially involved in bringing the Limerick Master’s crew to compete in the Boston Head of the Charles regatta in 2003 and 2004. Mr. Dooley was a finalist for ‘Limerick Person of the  Year’ in 2004 for his efforts in developing rowing in Limerick. Paddy Dooley presented the scholarship annually until he passed away in 2008.

The Paddy Dooley Rowing Scholarship is awarded annually to a UL undergraduate student based on rowing promise and academic performance.


2020 – Clara O’Brien

2019 – Clara O’Brien

2018 – Megan Carmody

2017 – Conor Carmody

2016 – Patrick Corley

2015 – Alan Murtagh

2014 – Dylan Quigley

2013 – Shane Haugh

2012 – Conor Doorley

2011 – Stephen Penny

2010 – None Awarded

2009 – Liam Rice

2008 – Ciaran Brady

2007 – Andrew Hurley

2006 – Caroline MacManus